‘Just keep moving forward and don’t give a shit about what anybody thinks. Do what you have to do for you.’ – Johnny Depp

It seems like every day, every minute, someone is judging you. Judging you on your appearance, your personalities, your opinions, your hobbies, your job, your grades and whatnot. The world seems to be filled with these judgemental people who sometimes are open about their views, or are talking behind our backs.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I don’t deny that. But that doesn’t give you the right to judge someone for their choices. They have their own reasons that you aren’t aware of. I hate being around people who are constantly passing judgements on the smallest of things like ” I don’t like what she’s wearing today.” or ” I don’t see why she has to spend her whole day devoted to that charity. She’s wasting her time and everyone else’s “. Hearing such things pisses me off and I really do have to control the urge to smack them on the head. But really guys, judging people is NOT cool. You’re no better yourself. Someone may go out feeling really confident about themselves, and one criticizing comment could shatter that confidence, leaving them in self-doubt for the rest of the day. Or maybe it could stop someone from pursuing their hobbies or interests out of fear of false judgement. The fear of judgement does tend to get to some people, causing inhibitions and insecurities.

I fear being judged for what I say and any mistakes I may make. That’s one of the principle reasons for not speaking much, because I fear I’ll make a mistake and be judged. So whenever I do answer a question or argue with someone, I’m pretty sure what I’m saying is correct.( so arguers beware! If I’m debating with you, consider I’ve already won :P). And while this does tend to a perfectionist nature, it also leads to low levels of participation.

So people, think before you speak. If you’re going to criticize someone, don’t make it sound like a judgement. Preferably soften it up a little. Or just don’t say it. Unless someone is deciding to go out wearing a terrible outfit in which case, do go ahead and stop them from embarrassing themselves. šŸ˜‰

